Love One Another: Action

How to Love One Another: Affirm, Share, and Serve

Most of us are familiar with the “one another” commands of the New Testament. In the study guide for  Gospel in Life: Grace Changes Everything, Tim Keller offers a helpful taxonomy under the categories of affirming one another, sharing with one another, and serving one another. These form, he says, “nine ‘community-building practices’—specific behaviors that build Christian community.”


  1. Affirm one another’s strengths, abilities, and gifts.
  1. Affirm one another’s equal importance in Christ.
  1. Affirm one another through visible affection.


  1. Share one another’s space, goods, and time.
  1. Share one another’s needs and problems.
  1. Share one another’s beliefs, thinking, and spirituality.


  1. Serve one another through accountability.
  1. Serve one another through forgiveness and reconciliation.
  1. Serve one another’s interests rather than our own.

This was one of the most popular videos in Wintering Well 2015, it ties in nicely.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s