Serve One Another: Definitions

Key verses

d0b9d6a7c7724f4d39a38a073f769efe

 

Mark 10:45

45 For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Ephesians 2:8-10

God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. 9 Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. 10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Definition:

Quote from Dr Tony Evans

“If we are to develop a servant’s heart, we must first discover what the word serve means in the bible.  To serve is to focus on others and act for their benefit in the name of Christ.  Service begins with a humble attitude and includes actively looking out for the interests of others.  You become a true servant when you are alongside others and help them improve spiritually, physically, emotionally or circumstantially.  You serve when your actions make someone else’s life better. “

Opposite of Serve One Another:

  • Serving yourself.  Following the sinful selfish nature.  Misuse of freedom.
  • Chasing recognition and status.
  • Envying one another.  Biting and devouring one another Gal 5:15

Counterfeit of Serve One Another:

  • Serving others based on self interest.  Serving to impress or be recognised.
  • Serving for the wrong reasons – obligation, guilt, earning God’s acceptance,
  • Over commitment – never being able to say no.

This is a great song about our Servant King called ‘Love Came Down’ written by Kari Jobe.  See the lyrics below.

If my heart is overwhelmed and I cannot hear Your voice
I’ll hold on to what is true though I cannot see
If the storms of life they come and the road ahead gets steep
I will lift these hands in faith
I will believe

I remind myself of all that You’ve done
And the life I have because Your Son

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours I am forever Yours

Mountain high or valley low
I sing out remind my soul
That I am Yours I am forever Yours

When my heart is filled with hope
and every promise comes my way
When I feel Your hands of grace rest upon me

Staying desperate for You God
Staying humbled at Your feet
I will lift these hands and praise
I will believe

I remind myself of all that You’ve done,
And the life I have because Your Son

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours I am forever Yours
Mountain high or valley low
I sing out remind my soul
That I am Yours I am forever Yours
I am Yours I am Yours All my days
I am Yours

I am Yours, I’m Yours forever
I am Yours, I’m Yours forever
I am Yours, I’m Yours forever Lord

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours I am forever Yours
Mountain high or valley low
I sing out remind my soul
That I am Yours I am forever Yours

 

Leave a Reply

